National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC)





The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated (NPHC) is currently composed of nine (9) International Greek letter Sororities and Fraternities: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. and Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. NPHC promotes interaction through forums, meetings and other mediums for the exchange of information and engages in cooperative programming and initiatives through various activities and functions.

On May 10, 1930, on the campus of Howard University, in Washington DC, the
National Pan-Hellenic Council was formed as a permanent organization with the following charter members: Omega Psi Phi and Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternities, and Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta and Zeta Phi Beta Sororities. In 1931, Alpha Phi Alpha and Phi Beta Sigma Fraternities joined the Council. Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority joined in 1937 and Iota Phi Theta Fraternity completed the list of member organizations in 1997.

The stated purpose and mission of the organization in 1930 was “Unanimity of thought and action as far 
 possible in the conduct of Greek letter collegiate fraternities and sororities, and to consider problems of mutual interest to its member organizations.” Early in 1937, the organization was incorporated under the laws of the State of Illinois and became known as “The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated.”

National Pan-Hellenic Council of Ann Arbor (NPHCAA)

On Saturday, January 29, 2011, the NPHCAA was chartered at the Episcopal Church of the Incarnation located in Ann Arbor, Michigan.    The charting organizations included:  Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. (Theta Zeta Lambda), Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. (Delta Psi Omega), Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. (Ann Arbor / Ypsilanti / Inkster), Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. (Ann Arbor Alumnae), and Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. (Rho Delta Zeta).


Dr. Portia Hemphill of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. led the charge as the first NPHCAA President!

The mission of the NPHAA is to:

- To foster cooperative actions of its members in administering and managing, matters of mutual concern.

- To promote the social, intellectual and moral well being of its members.

- To support joint working projects to improve the communities of the NPHCAA members.

- To implement and support programs that are compatible with the NPHC and NPHCAA and to support all NPHC affiliated organizations.